Rosemary & Garlic Grilled Goat Cheese Salad


We spent Thanksgiving weekend in Brussels, Belgium with friends. It was a much needed relaxing, laid back trip. We didn’t plan as much as usual for this trip so we hadn’t researched much about restaurants in the area.

We wandered around the beautiful streets of Brussels checking out the menus on display. We were all hungry so I didn’t want to be picky. I just wanted a salad. The menus at every restaurant were very meat heavy as usual so we eventually just picked a place that looked like it had nice ambiance and was in a good location right off the main square.

The first thing I noticed on the menu was the Rosemary Grilled Goat Cheese Salad. Grilled goat cheese sounded intriguing. I was a little nervous but it was wonderful. When we got home I jotted it down as something I’d like to try but I wasn’t sure where to start. A couple of months later I did some research and found a few different recipes. I wanted this to be simple and healthy. So, this is what I came up with.

Rosemary & Garlic Grilled Goat Cheese Salad with Apples and Raspberry Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

4oz log of goat cheese (low fat, if you can find it)
breadcrumbs
Rosemary
Garlic powder
6 button mushrooms
1 apple
mixed greens
baby spinach

To grill the goat cheese, cut a 4oz log of goat cheese in half length wise. Pour a thin layer of breadcrumbs on a plate and top with garlic powder and dried rosemary. I try to coat the cheese with more spices than breadcrumbs to keep it healthy and I would use whole grain or panko bread crumbs if I could find them here.

Gently press the goat cheese into the breadcrumb mixture until it is less then 1/2 inch thick. Ensure all of the cheese is covered, but lightly.

Place in preheated pan with non-stick spray on medium heat for about 3 min. Gently flip the cheese to grill both sides. While the cheese is cooking, slice the mushrooms and and dice the apple.

Place the grilled goat cheese atop a bed of mixed greens with baby spinach, mushrooms and chopped apples. Top the salad with raspberry vinaigrette or a creamy poppy seed dressing to splurge.

*I’ve also tried this salad topped with unsweetened dried cranberries and walnuts and it was fantastic.

This entry was posted in From Our Teeny Tiny German Kitchen, Travel, Travel Inspired Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

