Cha Cha Cha Chia Protein Brownies


This recipe took a lot more work than I anticipated but I guess I should have expected a challenge when I decided to try to make brownies with black beans. The recipe itself is not hard at all but it took several tries to get this right.  After trying mint chocolate and spilling far too much mint extract into the food processor, I opted to ditch the mint.  There were other not so tasty attempts but this one finally works for me and Ryan likes it too!

I wanted to make something that I could eat pre and post workout.  I needed something to fuel my workouts with a little protein and of course Chia for a boost of energy.  I didn’t want something store-bought and processed.  I knew I could make something myself that would be healthier.  The only alteration I would make to this next time would be to use dry beans and soak them for a day to eliminate the sodium from the canned beans.  This time I just made sure to rinse them very well.

This is how I did it:

Ingredients

15 oz can no salt added rinsed and drained black beans
2 TBPS Chia Seeds
1 medium -large very ripe banana, sliced
1 tbs olive oil
3/4 cup egg substitute
1/2 cup low calorie chocolate protein powder
2 tbsp PB2 peanut butter powder (or 2 tbsp natural peanut butter)
3 tbsp whole wheat flour
3/4 cup Splenda (or raw sugar)
1 tbsp vanilla extract

Directions:
1.    Place black beans in a food processor and spin for a minute
2.    Add remaining ingredients and spin until smooth and well blended
3.    Pour batter into an 8 x 8 pan coated with cooking spray
5.    Baked in a preheated 350 degree oven for 20 minutes

I cut these into bite size pieces to have a small amount of protein before I workout and then one or two bites after depending on how hard I worked out.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in From Our Teeny Tiny German Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

