Peanut Butter Cup Baked Oatmeal


I didn’t start out intending to make peanut butter cup oatmeal but I had a craving while making breakfast (yes, breakfast) for peanut butter cups.  I was planning to make our old stand-by quickie breakfast, oatmeal with bananas and peanut butter but as I added the peanut butter at the end, I had this fantastic idea.  It was the kind of fantastic idea you can only have when you are craving peanut butter cups just after rolling out of bed on a Saturday morning (this is not normal for me, by the way.  I usually wake up thinking about what healthy meal I can make after my workout).

The oatmeal pictured was what I threw together in a hurry.  I didn’t add up the calories but because my ingredients were healthy, I didn’t worry about it too much.  Today, I did the math and while the original turned out to be perfectly delicious, I reconsidered my last-minute recipe when I realized there were a few too many calories.  Today, I made this yummy peanut butter oatmeal with just a slight modification to lower the calories a bit and I think it turned out better than the original.  The only difference is that I replaced half the protein with vanilla extract (because the original had half vanilla protein… still YUMMY).  That saved 25 calories to bring it to about 370 calories, still with lots of protein.

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup quick cooking old-fashion oats

1 TBSP chocolate low calorie protein  powder (I used Designer Whey) 

1 TBSP Chia seeds (I think it adds to the nutty flavor but it’s optional) 

1 TSP baking powder
1 TSP Cocoa powder 

1/2 Cup almond milk (I used original but vanilla would be great)
1 TSP vanilla extract
1/2 large banana, thinly sliced
1 TBSP natural/organic peanut butter
x

Instructions:

Combine the dry ingredients and mix well.  Add the milk and stir until all of the dry ingredients are moist.  Add the peanut butter and slices of banana.  Make sure everything is mixed very well.

Bake at 375 for 30 minutes.  Allow to cool for a few minutes.

I baked this in individual serving ramekins but you could double it to bake in a larger dish.

This entry was posted in From Our Teeny Tiny German Kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peanut Butter Cup Baked Oatmeal

  1. That looks so delicious! I’m just killing a few minutes before I do my workout and then I might make something similar. Thanks for the inspiration 😀

Leave a Reply

