2013 Race Wish List


I had lots of great intentions last year but I was not so great on the follow-through.  Granted, I started the year with an injury but that doesn’t account for the lack of races for the rest of the year.  This year, I want to try to schedule more of our travel around the races I would like to run.  However, I do have realistic expectations.  I know things come up and life happens.  With Ryan’s work travel schedule and our other travel plans, I would be happy if I could run six races in 2013 so that is my goal!  Here are some of the races I’d love to run in 2013

17 February – Giulietta & Romeo Half Marathon in Verona.  We watched this half and full marathon when we were in Verona in 2011.  Verona is a beautiful, historic city and we happened to be there on the race weekend.  We sat at a cafe watching the runners.  I was itching the run and planned to someday come back and run it.

10 March –  Lufthansa Half Marathon I just found out about this one a few days ago when a friend asked if I would be interested in running it.  The course looks like at least part of it goes along the river and it is just 20 minutes away in Frankfurt so why not!

7 April – Berlin Half Marathon Berlin is awesome and Ryan and I have never been there at the same time so this will kill two birds with one stone.

22 April – Wienstrasse halbmarathon We ran this last year and it was awesome!  I can’t wait to do it again.

12 May – Mainz Half Marathon This is another race of convenience.  Mainz is just across the river but it is also a very pretty place to run.

July 27th & 28th – The Nettle Warrior race in Scotland is a Tough Guy race for the insane.  A friend who ran it a few years ago talked me into it.  I just hope I’m crazy enough to actually do it.  Just watching the video is making me nervous!

24 August –  Iceland Midnight half marathon After planning our Thanksgiving trip to Iceland, I realized that I am going to want to go back in the summer too and see even more of this beautiful place when it is not covered in snow.  Also, who doesn’t want to run a half marathon at MIDNIGHT

30 September – Robin Hood Half Marathon  Honestly, I just like the name and I love the UK.  The pics on the marathon website look like fun!

21 October – Amsterdam Half Marathon  I think Amsterdam would be beautiful in the Fall so this gives us a great excuse to make the drive.  Amsterdam is a quick 4 hour drive so why not!  At least that is how is I will try to convince Ryan to go to this one.

Now, if only it would stop raining so I can get a decent run in!

This entry was posted in Running, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

